Home Contact Us Subscribe Buyer's Guide Media Kits Previous Issues Web Links BSM

FSM Buyers Guide






Follow Us
Join Us on Facebook Join us on Twitter



AIHA Announces New 2019-20 Board Members

Print Article Contributed by FSM Staff

FALLS CHURCH, VA -- The American Industrial Hygiene Association announced the new members of its Board of Directors for 2019-20. The new Board members will be inducted at the association's annual business meeting on Wednesday, May 22, at AIHce EXP 2019 in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

The new AIHA Board officers and directors are as follows:

John R. Mulhausen, Ph.D., CIH, CSP, FAIHA, was elected AIHA's new vice president. Mulhausen joined AIHA in 1980. He previously served on the AIHA Board in 1998-2001 and held the positions of vice president, president-elect, president and past president of the Academy of Industrial Hygiene in 2004-08. Mulhausen, a member of AIHA's Exposure Assessment Strategies Committee, was the 2002 recipient of the Edward J. Baier Technical Achievement Award; he also received the Henry F. Smyth Jr. Award in 2009. He retired in 2018 after 31 years with 3M. Company.


Nicole Greeson, M.S., CIH, was elected treasurer-elect. She has been a member of AIHA since 2001 and has served on many volunteer groups, including the Mentoring and Professional Development Committee and the Healthcare Working Group. Greeson held the positions of vice chair, chair and past chair of the Mentoring and Professional Development Committee in 2014-17. Greeson also served as chair of the American Board of Industrial Hygiene Board of Directors in 2014-15. She is the director of the Occupational Hygiene and Safety Division of Duke University and Health System in Durham, North Carolina.


Lucinette Alvarado, M.S., CIH, was elected as an AIHA director. Alvarado has been a member of AIHA since 2007 and is a member of AIHA's Minority Special Interest Group and president of the Pittsburgh Local Section. She has experience in the chemical, manufacturing, steel and pharmaceutical industries. Alvarado works as an industrial hygienist in the Product Safety and Regulatory Affairs group at Covestro LLC in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.


Srinivas Durgam, CIH, CSP, an AIHA member since 2005, was elected as a director. He is a past chair of both the Hazard Prevention and Engineering Controls Committee and the Laboratory Health and Safety Committee. Durgam previously served as president of the Eastern Upstate New York Local Section in 2014-16 and was a member of the ABIH Board of Directors in 2014-18. He is the global environmental health and safety (EHS) manager with GE Additive (General Electric) in Niskayuna, New York.


"All four of our newest Board members embody the spirit of industrial hygienists and bring talent, expertise and energy to the table," says Deborah Imel Nelson, Ph.D., CIH, FAIHA, chair of the 2019 Board of Directors Nominating Committee. "We are very fortunate to have them as part of our team as we continue to work toward a world where all workers are healthy and safe. I also want to express my deepest appreciation to everyone who participated in the electoral process — the Board of Directors Nominating Committee, the nominees and everyone who voted in the election — for their significant contribution to AIHA's success." 





Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List iconSign up for our Email Newsletter
Type your email address here




First Verify

Rightway Safety